• Another Little Piece
  • Dangerous Girls
  • Dead Girls Dont Lie
  • Student Bodies
  • Dirty Little Secret
  • Sunbolt
  • Starglass
  • The Girl in the Wall
  • Insomnia
  • Peregrine Harker and the Black Death
  • If You Find Me
  • Since You Asked...
  • Blurred
  • The Summer I Became a Nerd
  • Cold Fury
  • Dare You To

Thursday, January 2, 2014

Review: Out of Play by Jolene Perry & Nyrae Dawn

Out of Play
by Nyrae Dawn & Jolene Perry
Release Date: August 6, 2013
Series: Standalone
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 320
Source: For Review
Buy the Book: IndieBound | Amazon | B&N

Rock star drummer Bishop Riley doesn't have a drug problem. Celebrities—especially ones suffering from anxiety—just need a little help taking the edge off sometimes. After downing a few too many pills, Bishop wakes up in the hospital facing an intervention. If he wants to stay in the band, he’ll have to detox while under house arrest in Seldon, Alaska. 

Hockey player Penny Jones can't imagine a life outside of Seldon. Though she has tons of scholarship offers to all the best schools, the last thing she wants is to leave. Who'll take care of her absentminded gramps? Not her mother, who can’t even be bothered to come home from work, let alone deal with their new tenants next door.

Penny’s not interested in dealing with Bishop’s crappy attitude, and Bishop’s too busy sneaking pills to care. Until he starts hanging out with Gramps and begins to see what he’s been missing. If Bishop wants a chance with the fiery girl next door, he’ll have to admit he has a problem and kick it. Too bad addiction is hard to kick…and Bishop’s about to run out of time.

Rating: 2 / 5 Riceballs

Book Review:
There's a certain part of New Adult that's fascinating. It deals with that weird transition from a kid to a grown up, all the while still containing youthful excitement. That being said, Out of Play really should have been a book I loved - it deals with drugs, family issues, death AND has a seemingly strong athlete for its main female lead.

But as many NA novels are, Out of Play is really just another romance. The drugs and family issues are really second to Penny and Bishop's relationship.They’re still, well, there. However, I didn’t feel as if Dawn and Perry were able to fully bring out the potential and emotion in such issues. That being said, if you enjoy romance, it is quite well-written. There’s a definite chemistry between the two characters. Unfortunately, it’s still rather predictable and sometimes annoying – how many times have you seen a set up where a girl starts of “hating” a guy and falls in love with him?

What's even more annoying is Penny. The blurb makes it seem like she's this strong, clearminded athlete who is willing to defy gender stereotypes. And while I appreciated her playing hockey, outside of the rink, she's just annoying. At the beginning of the novel, she's in love with her best guy friend, who happens to have a girlfriend. So does Penny leave them alone and respect the fact that they're in love with each other? Of course not. She has to believe that they're not in love, and be disrespectful to Rebecca at every turn.

Out of Play is ultimately your typical NA romance. Especially for someone who's read far too many of them, it doesn't particularly stand out. Added with its wasted potential and weak characters, this isn't a book I'd particularly recommend.

Recommended for: Fans of Nyrae Dawn & Jolene Perry, or those who haven't gotten tired of NA yet.

2 comments:

  1. I have not read a lot of NA yet, besides not liking the title for the genre lol but when I did they all did seem to follow the same formula over and over again. I heard Dawn writing is really good thought, so I might try some of it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Woody Allen (Allan Stewart Konigsberg) who louis vuitton outlet is now 73, has always been one of my favorite actor/comedians. Woody'sneurotic fumbling, stuttering and thick nerdy chanel replica glasses, (which haven't changed since the 1960's) have been cracking people up for years. And many of Allen's replica handbags movies are classics.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks so much for visiting! I love comments, whether you disagree or agree with me (: If you do comment, I'll try my best to respond ASAP and visit your blog too. Be sure to leave a link to your blog our post if you comment - I definitely want to check it out!